The authorities have enhanced screening at major international airports. Major airlines have cancelled or reduced flights to China, Iran, Italy, Japan and South Korea. US nationals who have travelled to China’s Hubei province in the past 14 days are subject to a mandatory 14-day quarantine, while foreign nationals who have been to China and Iran in the 14 days prior to arrival will be barred entry, with certain exceptions.

Starting 13 March, entry will be suspended for 30 days for non-US nationals who have been in the Schengen Area of Europe at any time in the past 14 days prior to their arrival to the US. Affected countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. US nationals will be allowed to return after ‘appropriate screening’; permanent residents will also be allowed to return, as will immediate family members of US citizens.

As of 16 March 2020 travel ban extends to UK and Ireland. the suspension of entry does not apply to any lawful permanent resident of the United States, close family members (spouses, siblings, parents and guardians) of a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident or air crew. There are limited other exceptions, primarily related to official US government business and members of the US armed forces. As a consequence of the exemption for air crew, this measure does not apply to cargo carriers.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.